How to Change GRIP System Settings From the Fleet Dashboard

Caution Statement: The Setting Manager is designed to provide the Fleet Dashboard Administrator/Fleet Manager with the ability to review individual vehicle settings, enable or disable functions and set parameters to optimize the GRIP system capabilities. Settings are initially set up during the installation phase utilizing GRIP’s Service Tool Adaptor kit. With the introduction of the Idle Tracker (GSM Module) GRIP clients, now are able to adjust settings from their desktop without the need to connect directly to the controller.

Prior to making any change(s), please refer to GRIP’s Service Tool Guide to review setting definitions, parameters or system functionality to ensure you fully understand the impact of any adjustment. We recommend contacting GRIP Customer Service for assistance or confirmation of purposed changes.

Example #1 - Changing the Max Idle Time from the Default Setting

Max Idle Time is defined as the amount of time that the engine runs in Park or Neutral before the GRIP System shuts the engine down. GRIP recommends 1 to 5 minutes however, the set maximum is 60 minutes. Adjusting the setting will have a direct impact on potential savings as the number is increased from the default setting of 1 minute.

Logging In:

  1. In your desired web browser, navigate to https://gripidledata.com/login
  2. Log on to GRIP’s Fleet Dashboard with account credentials.

Part A – Selecting a Vehicle:

Please note, setting adjustments can only be completed one vehicle at a time.

  1. From the main page, select “Vehicle Filters” located top right
  2. Under Selected Vehicles, select the correct vehicle which you have decided to adjust the “Max Idle Time”
  3. Click “Done” when ready to proceed to the next step
  4. From the main menu, select ‘Setup’, followed by ‘Setting Manager’
  5. Under Setting Manager, select Tab “System Settings 1”
  6. Under “Idle Control Settings”, look for “Max Idle Time” and place your cursor in the box beside the “Last Reported Value”, in this case, 1
  7. Enter the new value
  8. Once you have entered the new value, click “Apply New Settings” located above the setting tabs to the left
  9. Once you have applied the new settings, please look to the top right corner of the window to receive a confirmation statement “Success,” confirming the change was made

Please note the “Last Reported Value” will not display the new setting until the setting has been accepted by the vehicle controller and the update sent back to your account.

Example #2 - Operator Control - Throttle Override Enable On/Off from the Default Setting - Off.

Throttle Override Enable On/Off - This setting enables the Throttle Override to be used by the operator. If the system is counting down to shut down the engine and the operator snaps the throttle over the idle rpm, it will reset the count for the ‘Max Idle Time’. This is typically a safety override (default is OFF).  

Logging In:

  1. In your desired web browser, navigate to https://gripidledata.com/login
  2. Log on to GRIP’s Fleet Dashboard with account credentials

Part A – Selecting a Vehicle:

Please note, setting adjustments can only be completed one vehicle at a time.

  1. From the main page, select “Vehicle Filters” located top right
  2. Under Selected Vehicles, select the correct vehicle which you have decided to adjust the “Throttle Override”
  3. Click “Done” when ready to proceed to the next step
  4. From the main menu, select ‘Setup’, followed by ‘Setting Manager’
  5. Under Setting Manager, select Tab “Operator Control”
  6. Under “Operator Control Settings”, look for “Throttle Override Enable On/Off” selection
  7. To the right, under Last Reported Value, you will notice a select box where you will select “On”
  8. Click “Apply New Settings” located above the setting tabs to the left
  9. Once you have applied the new settings, please look to the top right corner of the window to receive a confirmation statement “Success”, confirming the change was made

Please note the “Last Reported Value” will not display the new setting until the setting has been accepted by the vehicle controller and the update sent back to your account

You can log-off your account when completed.